Shanks retains Open crown as 40×20 singles wrapped up

Another Ulster 40×20 Adult Singles Championship has concluded (almost – there are two ladies finals outstanding) and a whole host of new champions have been crowned.
Once again, the blue riband Open Singles title went to Armagh’s Charly Shanks, who saw off Tyrone’s Darragh Daly in today’s final.
The Clann Eireann man, meanwhile, is through to the last four of the All-Ireland Open Singles and hopes are high that he will do Ulster proud and retain the title he won for the first time last season.
The Ulster Intermediate title went to Tyrone’s Ryan Mullan (Carrickmore), with Monaghan’s Gavin Coyle (Bawn) seeing off Breacach’s recently-crowned US U19 champion Sean Kerr in a very high quality U21 final between two exceptional prospects.
Meanwhile, in an all-Belfast battle, left-hander Sean Devine (St Paul’s) defeated Paul Graham in an excellent tussle.
The ladies Intermediate Singles between Megan McCann and Eilise McRory has been deferred until Thursday. With Aisling Reilly having seen off Avril McNamee (Donegal) in the Open Singles semi-final, the decider in that grade between Reilly and McCann will be played at a later date.
Congrats to all the winners (below) and a special word of thanks to all the clubs who hosted games and those who officiated, particularly Gort na Mona and St Paul’s for hosting the bulk of today’s finals.
Next up on the Ulster calendar will be the doubles, which serves off next weekend. After the success of today’s finals day, all roads will lead to Kingscourt for the doubles finals on March 11.
MOS: Armagh (Charly Shanks) dft Tyrone (Darragh Daly) 21-8, 21-16
IS: Tyrone (Ryan Mullan) dft Antrim (Sean Clarke)
MS:Tyrone (Cormac Munroe) dft Tyrone (Dara Curran) 21-5, 21-10
U21S: Monaghan (Gavin Coyle) dft Tyrone (Sean Kerr) 21-11, 15-21, 21-12
JS: Antrim (Jordan O’Neill) dft Monaghan (Conor O’Gorman) 21-10, 21-5
JBS: Antrim (Mark Rainey) dft Monaghan (Ramunas Ramanauskas) 21-11, 21-18
O35AS: Tyrone (Shane O’Neill) only entry
O35BS: Antrim (Con Collins) dft Cavan (Brian Reilly) 21-6, 21-1
MAS: Antrim (Sean Devine) dft Antrim (Paul Graham) 21-17, 21-11
MBS: Down (Tony O’Connor) dft Down (Jim Cunningham) 21-15, 18-21, 21-19
SMAS: Monaghan (Michael Clerkin) only entry
SMBS: Tyrone (Chris Curran) dft Tyrone (Finbar Fullen) 21-5, 21-6
GMAS: Tyrone (Niall Kerr) dft Antrim (Paddy Crothers) 21-8, inj default
GMBS: Antrim (Sean McGurn) W/O Antrim (Kieran Cooper) Scr
EMAS: Antrim (Thomas Maguire) dft Monaghan (Conor McDonnell)
EMBS: Monaghan (John Treanor) dft Antrim (Philip O’Neill)
DMAS: Monaghan (Martin McEntee) dft Monaghan (Peter Larkin) 21-20, 21-3
DMBS: Down (Brian Havern) only entry
RMAS: Tyrone (John McCullagh) W/O Monaghan (Michael McCarron) Scr
O70S: Antrim (Seamus Graham) only entry
LOS: Antrim (Aisling Reilly) v Armagh (Megan McCann) TBC
LIS: Tyrone (Eilise McRory) v Armagh (Megan McCann) TBC
LJBS: Tyrone (Claire Conway) dft Tyrone (Eilish Owens)
LMS: Tyrone (Caitlin Conway) W/O Tyrone (Elizabeth McGarvey) scr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *